krotchris.blogg.se

A1347 mac mini server
A1347 mac mini server






a1347 mac mini server

Normally, doing this would present a special screen showing all accessible bootable volumes. Heck, I even tried resetting the parameter RAM (“zapping the PRAM”) by holding down Command-Option-P-R. I tried booting the Mac mini into FireWire target disk mode (by holding down the T key) so I could connect the mini as a hard drive to my Mac Pro, but target disk mode wouldn’t work. (Holding down D similarly didn’t launch the OS X disc’s Diagnostic Mode.) I tried holding down Command-S to enter single-user mode, hoping to run the fsck command to test and repair the drive.

#A1347 mac mini server mac os x

I tried booting from both the Mac OS X DVD and a DiskWarrior CD to check the hard drive for directory corruption, but holding down the C key at startup wouldn’t force the mini to boot from the optical drive. I tried starting up in Safe Boot mode by holding down Shift at startup, but the mini acted as if Safe Boot didn’t exist. I force-restarted a couple times just to make sure this wasn’t a one-time glitch. So it was time to perform some basic troubleshooting. Now, this Mac mini was working perfectly just half an hour earlier, and I didn’t recall it falling victim to any heinous physical abuse during the 15-foot trek between the closet and the desk.

a1347 mac mini server

If you’ve never seen this screen before-and I hope you’ve been so lucky-it essentially means “I can’t find a startup volume.” And the mini never made it past this screen. (The mini is also acting as a media server, so it hadn’t been restarted in a couple months.)Īfter setting everything up and pressing the Mac mini’s power button, I was presented not with the familiar login window or Desktop image, but rather with a long delay followed by an image of a folder with a flashing question mark. One of those tasks was to move a Mac mini from my data closet to my desk so I could use it for hands-on testing. Last week, I took advantage of some vacation time to perform a bunch of around-the-house tech maintenance.








A1347 mac mini server