krotchris.blogg.se

Accept assigned task in outlook 365
Accept assigned task in outlook 365













  1. #Accept assigned task in outlook 365 for mac
  2. #Accept assigned task in outlook 365 full
  3. #Accept assigned task in outlook 365 mac
  4. #Accept assigned task in outlook 365 windows

But they didn't need an entire separate app all I needed was a browser plugin for Chrome. They have a terrific browser-based product I must say which had a few small hiccups in terms of screen sharing, but for the most part, was as stable as what I get on Lync meetings.

#Accept assigned task in outlook 365 full

Is it really that difficult to bring the full Lync experience into the browser? Google does it for Hangouts and Chat, and I even had the chance to experience a browser-based session over BlueJeans during my recent video chat with a Colorado State University night course about lessons learned from the mess.

#Accept assigned task in outlook 365 windows

It's a dizzying list of a tit-for-tat feature spar between the various editions, with Lync 2013 for Windows sitting at the top and it goes south from there. If you think I'm kidding, just have a look at Microsoft's official client comparison table for all of the various flavors of Lync software. and don't get me started on the trickle down that exists then when Lync Web App users join into formal meetings.

#Accept assigned task in outlook 365 mac

Which brings me to my next point about this: if Microsoft brought a feature rich Lync capability back into the web browser, they wouldn't have to fight the uphill battle of feature disparity between Windows and Mac users. While Lync blows away Google Hangouts in formal meetings, ad-hoc IM and chat in the browser is still Google's game. As the above comparison shows, Lync chat in the browser for OWA today is more cruddy than the first release of AOL Instant Messenger. Google has had rich chat of all flavors built into its browser client since the late 2000s. To say that it s*cks is a bit of an understatement.

#Accept assigned task in outlook 365 for mac

So I'm relegated to using the full Lync 2013 app on my computer, which works great since I'm on Windows - but my Mac colleague on staff is stuck with the sad excuse for a piece of software, Lync for Mac 2011.

accept assigned task in outlook 365 accept assigned task in outlook 365

And it's a bit surprising, seeing how much Microsoft wants to move its products into the browser and away from these client specific platform clients. It shows up in name only, to be more accurate. Lync within Outlook Web App is almost non-existent in my opinion. The situation on iphone and Mac is still a bit pitiful (which Microsoft hopes to squash with the next Office for Mac release this year) but that's a story for another day. Our team has it equipped on computers as well as our smartphones and it works (relatively) well. I already raved about how we've ditched GoToMeeting altogether in favor of Lync for web meetings, and since we moved away from Google Apps, it has become our de-facto IM/voice/video chat platform as well. Of all the features Office 365 brings to the table, my favorite has to be Lync Online, hands down. Lync Chat in the Browser: Still a Sad Afterthought But even the mighty Redmond, the company that sculpted what corporate email has become today, still has some work to do.Īs a full time power Outlook Web App user, from an IT pro's perspective, here are the areas I think Microsoft should consider tackling before getting too sidetracked in more nuanced features. Things that I would have expected already cleaned up to bring OWA on par with Outlook client.

accept assigned task in outlook 365

The problem is that, for as much as Microsoft loves to toot it's own horn on all the new goodies coming to OWA, there are more than a few thorny points which irk me quite a bit. Heck, I've got numerous clients who have even refused to purchase newer Office licensing and merely leverage OWA in Office 365 like I do. Regardless of whether you agree with me on OWA's shift into primetime focus, I know many users out there rely on it as their primary email interface day to day. Microsoft's vision has been clear even before Office Web Apps became Office Online: the cloud is first priority, and desktop apps will soon transition into a supporting role. And the fact that Outlook Web App gets new features before Outlook client now by default justifies my opinion that Microsoft is aiming for feature parity between OWA and Outlook client within the next 5-7 years, give or take a few. I love having the same experience across any machine I use as long as I have a web browser. I know very well Outlook 2013 is a fair amount more powerful, but I am a minimalist at heart. And when I launched my company FireLogic in 2010, we went full Google Apps and you guessed right: I was a browser user 100 percent of the time. I then worked for that same high school district while in college, and all staff were only given Google Apps in the browser. I grew up using Gmail in the web browser since high school. It's a great tool, but it's just not my schtick. Yes, you heard me right: I refuse to use Outlook 2013 day to day.















Accept assigned task in outlook 365